OneDrive for Business and SharePoint Online new Permissions Feature.
New Features added to OneDrive for Business on March 31st 2017.
OneDrive for Business and SharePoint Online have had a feature improvement for finding what has been and is being shared from the end users perspective.
This has come at a time where some people are now thinking of moving end users home drive up to the cloud. With a basic Microsoft Office 365 subscription providing 1TB of OneDrive for Business for each subscribed user, this can free the burden on hardware infrastructure, potentially freeing space or when the next purchase of storage is required, then perhaps less is needed and reducing the backup requirements.
In OneDrive for Business, end users can share read only or editable content directly with one another, free IT resource from having to create folders and securing them. However, sharing comes with its own dangers, especially as by default, an end user can share to a link to anyone.
With these new changes, from the Admin perspective a few of the option previously only available by PowerShell are now simple toggle switches.
End User Experience
But for the end user, they can now see what has been shared and to whom.
With the additional capability to remove sharing from the folder or items from the side menu. See the Microsoft guide below.
This feature is not available to all at the time of writing, but the update is being rolled out, from 31st March 2017, so expect to see it shortly.